Nominations Sought for



The Greater Shelburne Falls Area Business Association seeks nominations for the Annual Marvin J. Shippee Community Service Award. The recipient will honored at the GSFABA’s Spring Breakfast on May 10, 2019. The deadline for submitting nominations is May 2, 2019.

The Marvin J. Shippee Community Service Award was awarded for the first time in 1998 in memory of Shippee’s leadership and his commitment to volunteerism. Shippee, the founder of the Business Association, offered inspired leadership and had direct involvement to countless community projects. 

Nominees should demonstrate volunteerism above and beyond the recipient’s paid employment. The award will recognize service in the 10 town area, which includes Ashfield, Buckland, Charlemont, Colrain, Conway, Hawley, Heath, Plainfield, Rowe, and Shelburne.

The Award Committee will weigh nominations according to the following criteria (additional appropriate considerations may also be considered):

·         Level of community service

·         Level of impact on the community

·         Length of service

The recipient will have:

·         Demonstrated inspired leadership and involvement in community projects

·         Earned the respect of their town and community for their contributions

·         Performed community service as an individual, not as part of a group, business, or

Individuals interested in putting forward a nomination must fill out a nomination form available at the GSFABA office (75 Bridge Street, Shelburne Falls), on the website at, or by email via

Completed nomination forms should postmarked by April 13, 2016 and mailed to:


P.O. Box 42 

Shelburne Falls, MA 01370

or email to

Former recipients include: Michael McCusker, 1998; Marion J. Taylor, 1998; Rolland Gifford, 1999; Dorothy Giffin, 1999; Carol Bolduc, 2000; Susan Samoriski, 2001; Bernie Butler, 2002; Mark Zenick, 2003; Dick and Jeanne Bole, 2004; Ruth Anderson, 2005; Wesley Rice, 2006; Dr. Mark Purinton, 2007; Polly Bartlett, 2008; Hugh Knox, 2009: Lawrence Shearer, 2010; Stefan Racz, 2011; John Taylor, 2012; Thomas Lively, 2013; John Bos 2014; Sandy Lilly, 2015.

Join Our Mailing List

Join the Business Association

Download our Member Brochure.
Outside Inside

You will soon be able to join online. Until then, call us and we can help you get started. 413-625-2526

The Greater SFABA Promotes Our Region with

SF dot com thumbnail

The face of our region is . This website is supported entirely by our business association.